Current Training Plan – Squat Like a Motherfucker Edition

23 Apr

Last week was a deload week, which ended up working out perfectly, because I live in Boston, and it was a really shitty week for obvious reasons.  I’m not really going to get into my feelings on the situation, since I’m simply not talented enough as a writer to do it justice, except to say that it was painful, stressful, and I’m really glad it’s over.

I’m in the first week of a new program, that will hopefully last another 4-6 weeks before I’m beat up enough to require a deload week.  My schedule still isn’t back to normal after last week, so I’m doing things a bit out of order at the moment.  It’ll start for real this Saturday.  The plan is to do a push/legs/pull/legs split, over a 6-day training week.   This means three leg days a week, and either one or two days a week of push/pull.  The schedule will remain the same as what I detailed in a previous post, in short, long marathon workouts Saturday and Sunday, and shorter doubles Monday-Thursday.  The push and pull days will also be fairly similar.  5 sets each of 2 large compound exercises, and then some accessory work, followed by TGUs.  Nothing too controversial, basically a maintenance plan for the upper body.  However, the focus of this cycle are the leg days, so I’ll go into them in more detail.

Sunday

This is going to be the epic marathon leg day.  The workout will look like this:

10 sets of squats in the 6-10 rep range.

5 sets of sumo deadlifts in the 3-9 rep range.

~10 sets of accessory leg work, such as GHRs, calf raises, barbell hip thrusts, etc.

3 sets of TGUs with assorted implements

Squats are obviously the focus of this workout, the deadlifts are just to add in a little extra heavy resistance before moving to accessories.  I did a variation on this yesterday, since I was able to take a very long lunch, and it pretty much killed me.  Luckily this is the point of this workout.  Take advantage of the rest day to really go all out on the volume, and then eat enough to facilitate recovery.  Next challenge, doing this hungover.

Tuesday

This will usually be a split workout, biggest downside of having a 40-hour a week desk job is not being able to go to the gym for multi-hour workouts whenever I want.

Lunch

5 sets of sumo deadlifts in the 3-6 rep range

5 sets of front bulgarian split squats in the 5-7(per leg) rep range

Couple sets of skater squats until I have to go back to the office

Evening

5 sets of overhead skater squats at ~12 reps

5 sets of GHRs

5 sets of calf raises

3 sets of TGUs

This is a deadlift focused day.  When training those I prefer to go with slightly lower reps, and relatively higher weight than with squats.  At some point I will come up with a more well thought out reason for this than, “because it feels better”.  I plan on a post highlighting overhead skater squats as soon as I get my form cleaned up to the point where the video won’t be totally embarrassing.

Thursday

This will be another split workout.  I plan to be much looser with this one.  I fully expect my legs to be really beat up at this point, and I want to be fully recovered by the following Sunday workout.

Lunch

5 sets of front bulgarian split squats in the 5-7(per leg) rep range

5 sets of a deadlift variation

Evening

5 sets of overhead skater squats at ~12 reps

5 sets of GHRs

5 sets of calf raises

3 sets of TGUs

I expect to be doing mostly trap bar deadlifts in the lunch session.  Really this workout is about squeezing the last bit of recoverable volume possible out of my legs before my off day.

I did a similar split to this last summer, and added ~80lbs to my squat in something like 6 weeks.  If I get anywhere close to that this go around I will be super psyched.

 

 

Leave a Reply

